Some of These Are Snails (Hardcover)

Some of These Are Snails By Carter Higgins Cover Image
$15.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


Press Here meets Eric Carle in a concept book that makes familiar ideas exciting and surprising.
 

From the creative mind behind Circle Under Berry comes this deceptively simple concept book that explores sorting, classification, and patterns as it teases the brain in unusual ways. With an elegant and simple approach, this thought-provoking book shows young readers that even the most familiar things can be seen from infinite perspectives. As with the best classic children's books, you read it once, read it ten times—and see something new every time.

MULTIPLE WAYS TO READ: The author has provided creative and helpful suggestions for different ways in which to read this book for varying reading levels and age ranges, making it truly versatile.

PACKED LEARNING VALUE: The unusual approach to colors, shapes, and animals intelligently introduces young readers to patterns, classification, and problem solving. The imaginative language, rich with rhythmic phrasing and playfulness, begs to be read aloud.

WIDE APPEAL FOR SCHOOL AND LIBRARY USE: Carter Higgins presents engaging learning with a variety of concepts. With its clear read-aloud qualities, this is ideal for teachers and librarians who organize reading events in their classrooms and communities.

UNIQUE DESIGN: The art style for this book, with playful nods to Eric Carle and Hervé Tullet, stands out from the pack in ways that will resonate with children as well as adults. It sits beautifully on any shelf—
from classroom to home libraries.

TALENTED AUTHOR: Carter Higgins has many successful titles across multiple age groups, including Circle Under Berry, Everything You Need for a Treehouse, This is Not a Valentine, Bikes for Sale, Big and Small and In-Between, and Audrey L and Audrey W.

Circle Under Berry
[star]​ "[V]isually striking . . . positively begging to be read aloud." —Kirkus Reviews, starred review
[star]​ “[D]rawing readers’ attention while achieving real grace . . .” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
“[S]parkling and ingenious . . . positively tingles.” —The Wall Street Journal 
“A triumph of design and a beacon of possibility.” —The Horn Book Magazine
“[A] striking exploration of shapes, colors, and patterns . . .” —Booklist Reviews

Everything You Need for a Treehouse
"Get ready for your imagination to explode!" —NPR Best Books of the Year
"[A] feast for the imagination." —Book Page
"This book urges adventure and creativity." —School Library Journal

This is Not a Valentine
"An enduring message of friendship." —School Library Journal
"A perfect book for kids who find the whole Valentine's Day holiday icky and overrated." —Book Riot
"Recognizes that you can don't need sugary hearts and mushy sentiment to show you care." —Newsday
"Heartwarmingly funny."  —Entertainment Weekly

Bikes for Sale
"Celebrates the ways in which serendipity can lead to friendship and sharing." —Booklist
"A sweet, quiet, different take on new-friendship." -—Kirkus Reviews

Big and Small and In-Between
[star]​ “[V]isually stunning and emotionally rich . . .” —School Library Journal, starred review
“[A] profoundly moving, charmingly crafted picture book.” —The New York Times
“[A]n abstract journey with many turns and surprises.” —Publishers Weekly 

Audrey L and Audrey W
“Funny and engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews
“This sweet series-starter holds plenty of promise.” —Booklist
“[S]ensitive and gently humorous.” —Shelf Awareness
“A great addition to libraries where memorable girls like Ivy + Bean and Judy Moody are popular.” —School Library Journal
“[Readers] will find their sweet spot with this easy reader.” —The Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books

Perfect for:
  • Parents and grandparents seeking engaging, interactive books for kids
  • Teachers, librarians, educators, and caregivers of children ranging from toddlers to emerging readers
  • Classroom gift book for preschool, kindergarten, art teachers
  • Baby shower, birthday, and holiday gift giving
  • Fans of Carter Higgins, Eric Carle, and Laura Vaccaro Seeger
  • Fans of fun educational books

About the Author


Carter Higgins is the author of many books for kids. Circle Under Berry and Some of These Are Snails are the first that she has both written and illustrated. She is also an Emmy-winning visual effects and motion graphics artist and spent a decade as an elementary school librarian. She lives in Las Vegas, Nevada.

Praise For…


“A whimsical romp.” — Kirkus Reviews

“[P]olished follow-up to Circle Under Berry…accessible concept-based images and text promise wide read-and-respond appeal.” — Publishers Weekly

“It all makes for an utterly delightful, visually rich package. . . . Best of all, [readers will] learn to see the world and its patterns in eye-opening ways. Some of These Are Snails is a must-have for every young reader’s bookshelf.” —Book Page
Product Details
ISBN: 9781797220185
ISBN-10: 1797220187
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: May 2nd, 2023
Pages: 52
Language: English