Makeover from Within: Lessons in Hardship, Acceptance, and Self-Discovery (Hardcover)

Makeover from Within: Lessons in Hardship, Acceptance, and Self-Discovery By Ty Hunter Cover Image
$27.95
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A moving and uniquely inspiring book of self-reflection and motivational musings from Ty Hunter, stylist to the stars.

In this nuanced mix of memoir, photographs, motivational musings, and wisdom, legendary celebrity stylist Ty Hunter recounts both the trying times and brightest moments of his life. Faced with physical, mental, and emotional obstacles that range from a gunshot wound to caring for his sick parents to simply existing as a Black, gay man in America, Ty channeled his energy into surmounting the unconquerable, along the way developing a resilient spirit—one that begs to be shared with the world.

In overcoming his own hardships and blossoming in his career as a stylist, where he worked with superstars like Beyoncé and Billy Porter, Ty has developed a knack for inspiring self-confidence in others. Perfect for the unstoppable badass in your life, this book tells the story of a vibrant soul who defeated the odds and whose goal is to guide you to a brighter and more positive future.

DISTINGUISHED AUTHOR: Ty Hunter was Beyoncé's stylist for 18 years, currently works as Billy Porter's head stylist, and launched a fashion line with A Cloud. Ty's substantial following on Instagram, where he shares motivational life advice, demonstrates high demand for his words of wisdom.

SUPERSTAR CONTRIBUTORS: Featuring a foreword by multi-platinum Grammy award–winning singer, songwriter, and actress Beyoncé and afterword by multi-award-winning actor, singer, and author Billy Porter.

A GREAT READ AND GIFT: This gorgeous book is perfect for birthdays, holidays, Pride celebrations, or any other day that needs some positive energy.

INSPIRING STORY: This book sends a bold and inspiring message to underdogs everywhere that they can overcome the impossible and thrive.

Perfect for:
  • Fans of Ty Hunter, Beyoncé, Tina Knowles, Billy Porter, and more
  • Fashion and pop culture enthusiasts

About the Author


Multi-talented Ty Hunter became a major force in the fashion industry as he helped shape an entire generation of fashionistas through his role as Beyoncé's stylist for 18 years. Ty has gone on to design his own collections, and has even shown at New York Fashion Week. He recently joined forces with one of the most exciting names in fashion today when he became Billy Porter's head stylist and was named his creative director.

Praise For…


"Readers of this book are about to go on a beautiful journey with my friend, my confidant, my brother, Ty Hunter.” — Beyoncé



“Ty knows just what to say to motivate you, make you laugh, or give you words of wisdom and encouragement when you need them the most! This book takes us on an amazing journey of turning lemons into Lemonade!” —Tina Knowles



“Ty, whom I’ve known for over a decade and have the pleasure of calling a close friend, is one of the most creative individuals I know. This book, where he shares his journey, is necessary right now, as so many individuals are looking for inspiration—Ty’s story will provide just that.” —Naomi Campbell



“Ty’s book is sure to inspire and give hope! That’s who Ty is. It speaks through all of the work he puts his hand to!” —Michelle Williams



“Ty is fashion. He is that rare breed of human who is equally kind and talented. His journey is beyond import, as his creations and style have encouraged people the world over to emulate his choices. It is an honor to call him a friend!” —Kelly Osbourne



“Ty Hunter is brilliant, creative, and wildly talented! The experience you will have with this book will be unforgettable, and you will feel as if you’ve made a new friend!”—Kelly Rowland

 



“Ty came into my world and effortlessly turnt me out!” —Billy Porter



“A beautifully pure spirit who consistently lights up a room and all of our hearts, Ty has always been a force to be reckoned with. His ability to balance his gifts of style, class, and grace is now available as a book, so we can digest more of his magnanimous aura.” —Tichina Arnold



“Ty is incredibly talented and has an unbelievable heart and story that will inspire anyone looking to pursue their dreams. I’m so excited for him to share his book with the world!” —Jennifer Hudson

Product Details
ISBN: 9781797217529
ISBN-10: 1797217526
Publisher: Chronicle Books
Publication Date: November 8th, 2022
Pages: 224
Language: English