The Other Gwyn Girl (Paperback)

The Other Gwyn Girl By Nicola Cornick Cover Image
$17.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


'Nicola's writing is so vivid and beautiful and perfectly pitched, her plotting addictive.' Jenny Ashcroft

1671 - London

The Civil War is over and Charles II, the 'Merry Monarch', is revelling in the throne of his murdered father and all the privileges and power that comes with it. Sharing the spoils is his favourite companion, the celebrated beauty, actress Nell Gwyn. Beloved of the English people, Nell has come a long way from selling oranges and a childhood in a brothel, but as her fortunes have turned, her sister Rose has taken a different path. Marriage to a feckless highwayman has left Rose in the grim Marshalsea prison and now she needs her sister's mercy to help get her out. But Nell needs Rose too. A plot to steal the Crown Jewels has gone tragically wrong, and Nell's future with her protector King is at risk. If Rose can't solve the riddle of the jewels both Gwyn sisters will head straight to the Tower.

Present Day

Librarian and history enthusiast Jess Yates has hit rock bottom. With her ex behind bars for fraud, Jess needs to lay low - easier said than done with a celebrity sister. But Tavy has her uses. Her latest TV project involves renovating Fortune Hall, and she needs a house sitter while she's jetting around the world. The opportunity is too good to miss, especially when Jess discovers that Fortune Hall has links to the infamous Nell Gwyn.

Slowly the house begins to reveal its mysteries, and secrets that have laid buried for centuries can no longer be ignored. Jess hears echoes from a tragic past and as she struggles to understand her sister, Jess feels ever closer to Rose Gwyn, the sister forgotten by history but who had the fate of her family in her hands.

Bestselling author Nicola Cornick is back with a captivating, gripping, unforgettable tale of treachery and treason, love and loyalty, perfect for fans of Barbara Erskine, Elena Collins and Christina Courtenay.

Praise for Nicola Cornick:

'What a fascinating story. I enjoyed every moment of it. Intriguing and with a lovely time-slippery twist' Barbara Erskine on The Last Daughter

'A treasure trove of historical insight, casting a new light on a compelling mystery that binds the present to the distant past.' Fiona Valpy on The Last Daughter

'An ingenious tale of mystery and suspense... Enchanting.' Dinah Jeffries on The Last Daughter 'An enchanting timeslip novel that kept me spellbound.' Christina Courtenay on The Winter Garden

'Fascinating and captivating.' Sarah Morgan on The Winter Garden

'Glorious... I adored it.' Kathleen McGurl on The Winter Garden

Readers love Nicola Cornick:

'Ten stars I loved this book. A perfect mix of past and present. I was in love with the present day hero Finn and wanted things to work out for Lucy. The historical side was told in an intriguing way and I enjoyed the ghostly elements of the story. Best historical/timeslip I have read in a long time. Bravo Nicola Cornick.'

'This book was one I just wanted to keep reading and not put down. Really great characters drawn, fascinating insights to the historic period and just all round good read.'

'Like another reviewer, I had to stop myself from reading too quickly, meaning its delights would be at an end. Some books really grab you and this was one. Highly recommended if you love history, historical fiction and dual narratives.'

'I love the way Nicola Cornick weaves her stories with fact. Knowing she's a historian, you can rest assured that the tales she tells are impeccably researched and historically correct and the modern day timelines add an interesting element. I read this book so quickly and was sad when it came to an end.'

Product Details
ISBN: 9781785137228
ISBN-10: 1785137220
Publisher: Boldwood Books Ltd
Publication Date: March 7th, 2024
Pages: 298
Language: English