Darkness Beyond (Herbert Reardon Mystery #5) (Paperback)

Darkness Beyond (Herbert Reardon Mystery #5) By Marjorie Eccles Cover Image
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 5 in the Herbert Reardon Mystery series.


DI Herbert Reardon investigates the curious case of a man seemingly returned from the dead, in the latest 1930s-set historical mystery from Marjorie Eccles.

February, 1933. When their eldest brother Paul walks into their hallway, fourteen years after he was presumed dead, successful property developers Thea and Teddy Millar are beset with questions. Where has he been? Why has he never written to let them know he was alive? And most of important of all: what happened to Paul, after the end of the Great War, to make him abandon everything and everyone he ever knew?

When Paul's body is found floating in the canal two weeks later, Detective Inspector Herbert Reardon feels sure the murder is connected to his new life in London. For who would want to kill a man who's been thought dead for over a decade?

But Reardon knows the past can cast long shadows, and as he investigates, he finds a knot of dark secrets and old grudges that someone is determined he'll never untangle . . .

This atmospheric historical mystery brings the interwar period of the 1930s to vivid, compelling life, and is a great choice for fans of traditional mysteries with characters who feel real and sympathetic.

About the Author

Marjorie Eccles was born in Yorkshire and spent much of her childhood there and on the Northumbrian coast. She is the author of many crime novels, including the Gil Mayo police procedurals, which were adapted for television by the BBC; several Edwardian mysteries; and the DI Herbert Reardon historical mystery series. She has one grown-up son and now lives in Buckinghamshire.
Product Details
ISBN: 9781780297873
ISBN-10: 1780297874
Publisher: Severn House
Publication Date: January 27th, 2022
Pages: 288
Language: English
Series: Herbert Reardon Mystery