Batter Off Dead: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery (Hardcover)

Batter Off Dead: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


For fans of Joanne Fluke and Leslie Meier comes the second in Maymee Bell’s delectable Southern Cake Baker mysteries.

Sophia Cummings may be unlucky in love, but she knows that the way to a man's heart is through his sweet tooth. This evening, she plans to use that knowledge—and her skills as a New York City-trained pastry chef—to open the hearts and wallets of Rumford, Kentucky’s richest men. Sophia, proprietress of For Goodness Cakes, has been commissioned to cater the Heart of the Town Library charity fundraiser at Grape Valley Winery. She’s spent all her dough to make this a successful event, raise her profile, and win more plum catering jobs.

At first, the going is as smooth as an elegant chocolate ganache. After nibbling Sophia’s tasty treats, Ray Peel, the winery’s landlord, announces he will pay off Rumford’s library loan. But the evening soon turns decidedly frosty when Ray is murdered—before he can make good on his promise, and before he can pay Sophia for her catering services.

For Goodness Cakes will collapse if Sophia can’t collect what she’s owed. So Sophia once again puts on her sleuthing apron to figure out who iced Ray. A glass of your favorite red or white is the perfect accompaniment to Maymee Bell’s scrumptious Batter Off Dead―with authentic Southern recipes!

About the Author


Maymee Bell lives in Kentucky with her family and her two schnauzers. She likes strong coffee, slow-country days, and fresh-baked cookies―but she likes telling stories best of all. This is her second Southern Baker mystery.

Praise For…


Praise for Batter Off Dead:“Romance, a lovable bunch of eccentrics, and a collection of recipes with murder most foul.”
Kirkus

“Scrumptious...Fans of culinary cozies will have fun.”
Publishers Weekly

“[A] scrumptious, recipe-filled mystery.”
—Woman’s World

“A fun read...If you have an affinity for southern mysteries, you won’t be able to resist this series.”
MyShelf

“Sophia is a delightful sleuth...And makes every scene delightful. Batter Off Dead is a decadent treat with mystery, heart, and humorous team-ups with Sophia’s mother and friends that make for non-stop sleuthing fun.”
San Francisco Book Review

Praise for Cake and Punishment:

"Delicious goodies, a small Southern town, quirky characters—even a cat—what else could a mystery fan ask? Recipes, of course. Yum, yum. Maymee Bell’s book is delightful. Or maybe delicious.”
—JoAnna Carl, national bestselling author of the Chocoholic mysteries

"Cake and Punishment is baked to order. From murder to love to apple pie, it is a ridiculously satisfying read. Get ready for your tastebuds to be tickled!
—Melissa Bourbon, national bestselling author of the Magical Dressmaking mysteries

"A sweet treat for a cozy mystery. Maymee Bell brings small town Kentucky to life. Great read to curl up on your front porch with—add a glass of sweet tea and you are enjoying a taste of southern living.
—Nancy Parra, bestselling author of the Baker’s Treat mysteries

“A mouthwatering, Southern delight of a mystery!"
—Liz Mugavero, author of the Pawsitively Organic mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683318781
ISBN-10: 1683318781
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: December 11th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English
Series: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery