Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery (Hardcover)

Cake and Punishment: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery Cover Image
$26.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In the first of a delectable new Southern-set baking cozy series, Sophia Cummings, pastry chef extraordinaire, must craft the perfect cake for an old friend’s wedding while sifting through the suspects in a murder.

Bucolic Rumford, Kentucky has glowing fields of bluegrass, a fine selection of bourbons, and now a professional pastry chef. Broken-hearted Sophia Cummings has come home from New York City. She’s not there a minute before she’s charmed into making her high school friend Charlotte’s wedding cake. The kitchen at the Rumford Country Club seems perfect until Chef Emile’s body is discovered, sprawled near the stove, a cast iron skillet on the floor close by.

With one look at the shiny, new frying pan, Sophia knows it’s not Emile’s. She offers her knowledge to Sheriff Carter and her talents to Evelyn, the manager, who needs an interim chef. The mood in the country club is grim: Emile’s peppery personality had burned members and staff alike. Sophia wonders which one of them burned him?

Perfect for fans of Joanne Fluke and JoAnna Carl, Cake and Punishment—with authentic Southern recipes!—will satisfy your sweet tooth.

About the Author


Maymee Bell lives in Kentucky with her family and her two schnauzers. She likes strong coffee, slow-country days, and fresh-baked cookies―but she likes telling stories best of all. This is her first Southern Baker mystery.

Praise For…


Praise for Cake and Punishment:

“A delightful new series, introducing an appealing cast of amusing, gossipy Southern women and a spunky sleuth...Readers of Joanne Fluke and Jenn McKinlay, will savor the humor and bakery connection.”
Library Journal

“Cozy fans, especially those who are compulsive early-morning bakers, will look forward to Sophia’s further culinary adventures.”
Publishers Weekly

“Snappy writing and a winning cast of characters. Interest in foodie mysteries remains high."
Booklist

"Delicious goodies, a small Southern town, quirky characters—even a cat—what else could a mystery fan ask? Recipes, of course. Yum, yum. Maymee Bell’s book is delightful. Or maybe delicious.”
—JoAnna Carl, national bestselling author of the Chocoholic mysteries

"Cake and Punishment is baked to order. From murder to love to apple pie, it is a ridiculously satisfying read. Get ready for your tastebuds to be tickled!
—Melissa Bourbon, national bestselling author of the Magical Dressmaking mysteries

"A sweet treat for a cozy mystery. Maymee Bell brings small town Kentucky to life. Great read to curl up on your front porch with—add a glass of sweet tea and you are enjoying a taste of southern living.
—Nancy Parra, bestselling author of the Baker’s Treat mysteries

“A mouthwatering, Southern delight of a mystery!"
—Liz Mugavero, author of the Pawsitively Organic mysteries

“Grab a glass of sweet tea or a cookie before you pick up Cake and Punishment by Maymee Bell. You will want a sweet treat while you are reading it!!”
Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

“A sweet Southern mystery with a delightful plot and quirky characters who quickly make you feel at home.”
San Francisco Book Review
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683315711
ISBN-10: 1683315715
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Southern Cake Baker Mystery