Flowers and Foul Play: A Magic Garden Mystery (Hardcover)

Flowers and Foul Play: A Magic Garden Mystery By Amanda Flower Cover Image
Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the A Magic Garden Mystery series.


Fiona Knox lost her fiancé and her flower shop—but when she flies to Scotland to inherit her godfather’s cottage and possibly magical walled garden, she may lose her life as well when she’s swept into a murder investigation.

Florist Fiona Knox’s life isn’t smelling so sweet these days. Her fiancé left her for their cake decorator. Then, her flower shop wilted after a chain florist opened next door. So when her godfather, Ian MacCallister, leaves her a cottage in Scotland, Fiona jumps on the next plane to Edinburgh. Ian, after all, is the one who taught her to love flowers. But when Ian’s elderly caretaker Hamish MacGregor shows her to the cottage upon her arrival, she finds the once resplendent grounds of Duncreigan in a dreadful shambles—with a dead body in the garden.

Minutes into her arrival, Fiona is already being questioned by the handsome Chief Inspector Neil Craig and getting her passport seized. But it’s Craig’s fixation on Uncle Ian’s loyal caretaker, Hamish, as a prime suspect, that really makes her worried. As Fiona strolls the town, she quickly realizes there are a whole bouquet of suspects much more likely to have killed Alastair Croft, the dead lawyer who seems to have had more enemies than friends.

Now it’s up to Fiona to clear Hamish’s name before it’s too late in Flowers and Foul Play, USA Today bestselling author Amanda Flower’s spellbinding first Magic Garden mystery.

About the Author

Amanda Flower, a USA Today bestselling and Agatha Award-winning mystery author, started her writing career in elementary school when she read a story she wrote to her sixth grade class and had the class in stitches with her description of being stuck on the top of a Ferris wheel. She knew at that moment she’d found her calling of making people laugh with her words. She also writes mysteries as USA Today bestselling author Isabella Alan. In addition to being an author, Amanda is a librarian in Northeast Ohio. This is her first Magic Garden mystery.

Praise For…

Praise for Flowers and Foul Play:
“[A] superior series launch...The well-constructed plot, seasoned with humor, builds slowly toward a surprising conclusion. Cozy fans will look forward to Fiona’s further adventures.”
Publishers Weekly starred review

Flowers and Foul Play is a delightful mystery with a variety of characters to enjoy along with stunning Scotland scenery, history, and second chances.”
Seattle Book Review five-star review

“An enchanted garden in rural Scotland? Bestill my heart. Amanda Flower’s latest, Flowers and Foul Play, is quirky, mysterious, magical fun. A delight from start to finish.”
—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Witchcraft and Haunted Home Renovation mysteries

"[Flowers and Foul Play] smoothly paced series debut is layered with appealing characters and a well-plotted puzzle flavored with gentle magic and a whisper of romance. I look forward to many more stories from Amanda Flower and her heroine, Fiona."
—Bailey Cates, New York Times bestselling author of the Magical Bakery mysteries

"Delightful...Amanda Flower combines Scotland, mystery, romance, and just enough magic in this series debut to create a fun and engaging read!"
—Dawn Eastman, national bestselling author of the Family Fortune mysteries

"Filled with Highland color and memorable characters, this mystery is a delightfully deadly read! Amanda Flower knows how to create pure magic."
—Hannah Reed, bestselling author of the Scottish Highlands mystery series

“A Magical secret garden, a picturesque Scottish village on the shores of the North Sea, and a cozy cottage inherited from a loving godfather—a dream come true for American Fiona Knox. But dreams turn into nightmares when Fiona stumbles upon a dead body laying next to an ancient stone with mystical powers. Is her garden a curse or a blessing? Hopefully she’ll find out before the killer strikes again. A fun whodunnit that will keep you guessing till the wee hours.”
—Kathleen Bridge, author of the Hamptons Home and Garden and By the Sea mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781683315629
ISBN-10: 1683315626
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: May 8th, 2018
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: A Magic Garden Mystery