Death and Daisies: A Magic Garden Mystery (Mass Market)

Death and Daisies: A Magic Garden Mystery Cover Image
$7.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the A Magic Garden Mystery series.

Description


Florist Fiona Knox left behind her gloomy life for a magical garden in Scotland, but a murder on her shop's opening day brings threatening storm clouds.

Fiona Knox thought she was pulling her life back together when she inherited her godfather's cottage in Duncreigan, Scotland--complete with a magical walled garden. But the erstwhile Tennessee flower shop owner promptly found herself puddle boot-deep in danger when she found a dead body among the blossoms. One police investigation later (made a trifle less unpleasant by the presence of handsome Chief Inspector Neil Craig), and Fiona's life is getting back on track. Her sister Isla has just moved in with her, and the grand opening of her new venture, the Climbing Rose Flower Shop in Aberdeenshire, is imminent.

But dark clouds are gathering to douse Fiona's newly sunny outlook. First, imperious parish minister Quaid MacCullen makes it undeniably clear that he would be happy to send Fiona back to Tennessee. Then, a horrific lightning storm threatens to tear apart the elderly cottage and sends Fi and Isla cowering under their beds. The storm passes, as storms do, and Fi's heart flutters when Chief Inspector Craig texts her to make sure she's all right. But then, Fi and Craig are called away from the Climbing Rose's opening soiree when Kipling, the tiny village's weak-kneed volunteer police chief, finds a dead body on the beach.

The body proves difficult to identify, but Kipling is certain it's that of the parish minister. Which makes Fiona, MacCullen's new nemesis, a suspect. Also, Isla has been behaving strangely...did she do something unspeakable to protect her sister? The last thing Fiona wanted to do was play detective again. But now, the rosy future she'd envisioned is going to seed, and if she and Craig can't clear her name, her idyllic life will wilt away.

About the Author


Amanda Flower, a USA Today bestselling and Agatha Award-winning mystery author, started her writing career in elementary school when she read a story she wrote to her sixth grade class and had the class in stitches with her description of being stuck on the top of a Ferris wheel. She knew at that moment she'd found her calling of making people laugh with her words. She also writes mysteries as USA Today bestselling author Isabella Alan. In addition to being an author, Amanda is a librarian in Northeast Ohio. This is her second Magic Garden mystery.

Praise For…


Praise for Death and Daisies:
“A surprising killer, oodles of local color, and a touch of mysticism all add up to a charming read.”
Kirkus Reviews

“Those with a taste for fantasy-tinged cozies will want to see more of the appealing Fiona.”
Publishers Weekly

"A great series, this author continues to write stories that should not be missed!"
Suspense Magazine

“Fans of cozies with mystical elements will enjoy Fiona’s visits to her magical garden.”
Booklist

"Enchanting."—Woman’s World

"If you love Hallmark Channel movies, seed catalogues, and very mild magical realism, Flower’s (yes, that’s her real name) Death and Daisies is made for you."
Entertainment Weekly

“Introduce this series, with its charming characters and enchanting setting, to readers of other Scotland-set cozies, such as those by Paige Shelton and Molly MacRae. The magic realism aspect may appeal to fans of Ellery Adams and Sarah Addison Allen.”
Library Journal

“As you follow Fiona around as she opens the flower shop, hangs with her sister and friends, you can’t help but feel like you, yourself are there in Scotland along side her...It will have you hooked!”
Cozy Mystery Book Reviews

“Amanda Flower captures this quaint and lovely Scottish town...A sweet and charming follow up with magic, heart, and the bond between sisters.”
Tulsa Book Review

Praise for Flowers and Foul Play:
“An enchanted garden in rural Scotland? Bestill my heart. Amanda Flower’s latest, Flowers and Foul Play, is quirky, mysterious, magical fun. A delight from start to finish.”
—Juliet Blackwell, New York Times bestselling author of the Witchcraft and Haunted Home Renovation mysteries

Praise for the Magical Bookshop mysteries:
"An enchanting tale of mystery, magical books, and endearing characters. Prepare to be charmed."
—Heather Blake, national bestselling author of The Witch and the Dead on Crime and Poetry

“In her page-turning style, Flower builds effective suspense.”
Booklist
Product Details
ISBN: 9781643851891
ISBN-10: 1643851896
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Publication Date: July 28th, 2020
Pages: 336
Series: A Magic Garden Mystery