Drowned Under (Cyd Redondo Mysteries) (Large Print / Paperback)

Drowned Under (Cyd Redondo Mysteries) By Wendall Thomas Cover Image
$23.95
Email or call for price.

Other Books in Series

This is book number 2 in the Cyd Redondo Mysteries series.

Description


"Fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum will cotton to Cyd."—Publishers Weekly

2020 ANTHONY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST PAPERBACK ORIGINAL

2019 LEFTY AWARD NOMINEE FOR BEST HUMOROUS MYSTERY

Second book in the Cyd Redondo Mystery Series! Hop on this cozy cruise ship mystery from acclaimed author Wendall Thomas. When a couple disappears on an Australian cruise ship, Cyd Redondo jumps onboard the case. But she doesn't expect to deal with liars and tigers and millionaires—oh my!

Eggnog notwithstanding, travel agent Cyd Redondo is not looking excited for the holidays. She's looking for any excuse to get out of Brooklyn and avoid her family, so when her ex-husband's parents disappear, she's happy to help. The couple was last seen on an Australian cruise ship, and Cyd jumps at the opportunity to take a trip Down Under. With the help of her travel liaison and friend Harriet she nabs a free cabin on the Tasmanian Dream.

But after a bumpy arrival, Cyd finds Harriet dead in her cabin. And the missing couple is nowhere to be found.

The ship's coroner declares the death an accident and tries to cover up the crime scene—it's bad PR, after all. But Cyd knows the death was no accident—and when she realizes there are exotic animals aboard, she suspects an illegal smuggling operation is at play. Now Cyd must scramble to crack this quirky mystery by catching a murderer, finding the missing couple, and preventing the heist of the world's last Tasmanian tiger.

A cozy mystery full of twists, turns, and exotic pets, this clever caper is:

  • Perfect for fans of Janet Evanovich and Lisa Lutz
  • For readers who enjoy mysteries involving animals

About the Author


Wendall Thomas teaches in the Graduate Film School at UCLA, lectures internationally on screenwriting, and has worked as an entertainment reporter, script consultant, and film and television writer. Her novel Lost Luggage was nominated for the Lefty and Macavity awards for Best Debut Mystery.

Praise For…


"Fans of Janet Evanovich's Stephanie Plum will cotton to Cyd." — Publishers Weekly

"The passenger list in Wendall Thomas’s Drowned Under is a cavalcade of randy former nuns, gigolos, stowaways, near-extinct marsupials...and one brilliantly sexy disaster of a globetrotting travel agent named Cyd Redondo. Thanks to her wildly creative mind, the fruits of which produce frequent affronts to her dignity, Cyd is easily one of my favorite amateur sleuths in fiction today. Thomas’s writing flows effortlessly, and her plotting is complex but perfectly tied together. This is a remarkable novel in what is shaping up to be an exciting and hilarious series. Don’t miss Drowned Under or its predecessor, Lost Luggage. You’ll love Cyd, perhaps the funniest heroine out there. Highest recommendation." — James W. Ziskin, Anthony and Macavity award winning author of the Ellie Stone mysteries

"Bravo. Cyd Redondo, Redondo Travel, is at it again. What a wonderful sequel to Lost Luggage. With her clever mind, tart comebacks, and Balenciaga tote bag, Cyd is a fearsome force. I love her pluck, the way she digs her way out of trouble, and her willingness to do everything she can—even die—for her clientele. What a heroine for the modern age. Do not miss this!" — Daryl Wood Gerber, Agatha award-winning national bestselling author of the Cookbook Nook and French Bistro mysteries

"Drowned Under is laugh out loud funny. With its finely tuned timing and zany, emotional protagonist, this novel puts Thomas in a class with Carl Hiassen and Janet Evanovitch." — Nancy Tingley, Lefty nominated author of the Jenna Murphy mysteries
Product Details
ISBN: 9781464210617
ISBN-10: 1464210616
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Poisoned Pen Press
Publication Date: March 19th, 2019
Pages: 432
Language: English
Series: Cyd Redondo Mysteries