The Lost Apothecary (Large Print / Paperback)

The Lost Apothecary By Sarah Penner Cover Image
$18.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


With crackling suspense, unforgettable characters and searing insight, The Lost Apothecary is a subversive and intoxicating debut novel of secrets, vengeance and the remarkable ways women can save each other despite the barrier of time.

Hidden in the depths of eighteenth-century London, a secret apothecary shop caters to an unusual kind of clientele. Women across the city whisper of a mysterious figure named Nella who sells well-disguised poisons to use against the oppressive men in their lives. But the apothecary's fate is jeopardized when her newest patron, a precocious twelve-year-old, makes a fatal mistake, sparking a string of consequences that echo through the centuries.

Meanwhile in present-day London, aspiring historian Caroline Parcewell spends her tenth wedding anniversary alone, running from her own demons. When she stumbles upon a clue to the unsolved apothecary murders that haunted London two hundred years ago, her life collides with the apothecary's in a stunning twist of fate--and not everyone will survive.

Shortlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award
2021's Most Highly Anticipated New Books Newsweek
Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Popsugar

'A bold, edgy, accomplished debut ' Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress

'Intriguing... Readers who enjoy parallel historical/contemporary narratives about women's lives, such as Claire McMillan's The Necklace or Liz Trenow's The Forgotten Seamstress, will enjoy the historical details and mystery in this engrossing tale.' Library Journal

'Readers who enjoy Katherine Howe and Susanna Kearsley will be drawn to this promising, fast-paced debut.' Booklist

'A superb debut novel... crackling with suspense, this is an original and compelling story' WI Life

Product Details
ISBN: 9781432896652
ISBN-10: 1432896652
Large Print: Yes
Publisher: Large Print Press
Publication Date: March 30th, 2022
Language: English