Delivering the Truth (Quaker Midwife Mystery #1) (Paperback)

Delivering the Truth (Quaker Midwife Mystery #1) Cover Image
Email or call for price.
Out of Print

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Quaker Midwife Mystery series.


Quaker midwife Rose Carroll discovers dark secrets in 1888 Massachusetts

For Quaker midwife Rose Carroll, life in Amesbury, Massachusetts, provides equal measures of joy and tribulation. She delights in attending to the needs of mothers and newborns even as she mourns the recent death of her sister. Likewise, Rose enjoys the giddy feelings that come from being courted by a handsome doctor, but a suspicious fire and two murders leave her fearing for the well-being of her loved ones.

Driven by her desire for safety and justice, Rose Carroll begins asking questions related to the crimes. Consulting with her friends and neighbors--including the famous Quaker poet John Greenleaf Whittier--Rose draws on her strengths as a counselor and problem solver in trying to bring the perpetrators to light.


A 2016 Agatha Award Finalist for Best Historical Novel

A 2017 IPPY Award Silver Medalist for Mystery/Cozy/Noir

A] smart new series from the prolific Maxwell.--Booklist

First of hopefully many more to come, I believe that everyone will definitely enjoy this stand-out book.--Suspense Magazine

Maxwell...introduces a series heroine whose struggles with the tenets of her Quaker faith make her strong and appealing. The author also imparts authentic historical detail to depict life in a 19th century New England factory town.--Library Journal

A highly competent mystery.--Kirkus Reviews

Rose Carroll is a richly crafted and appealing sleuth. A terrific historical read.--Rhys Bowen, New York Times bestselling author

The historical setting is redolent and delicious, the townspeople engaging, and the plot a proper puzzle, but it's Rose Carroll--midwife, Quaker, sleuth--who captivates in this irresistible series debut.--Catriona McPherson, award-winning author of the Dandy Gilver series

Maxwell introduces a fascinating new heroine with her Quaker midwife Rose Carroll.--Victoria Thompson, bestselling author of Murder on St. Nicolas Ave

Rose's] strong personality combined with the author's distinctive voice and vivid writing style transported me instantly to another time and place.--Kathy Lynn Emerson, Malice Domestic 2014 Guest of Honor and author of How to Write Killer Historical Mysteries, Murder in the Queen's Wardrobe, and the Diana Spaulding 1888 Mysteries

About the Author

Edith Maxwell is President of the New England chapter of Sisters in Crime and a long-time member of the Society of Friends. She is the author of the Local Foods Mysteries and writes the Country Store Mysteries under the pseudonym Maddie Day.
Product Details
ISBN: 9780738747521
ISBN-10: 0738747521
Publisher: Midnight Ink
Publication Date: April 8th, 2016
Pages: 312
Language: English
Series: Quaker Midwife Mystery