Bindle Punk Jefe: A Novel (Paperback)

Bindle Punk Jefe: A Novel By Desideria Mesa Cover Image
$17.99
Not Yet Published

Description


From award-winning author Desideria Mesa comes the glittering sequel to Bindle Punk Bruja in which Earth witch Rose (Luna) Lane’s secret life comes to a breaking point as outside threats lurk—perfect for fans of Trouble the Saints by Alaya Dawn Johnson, Libba Bray’s The Diviners, and Chloe Gong’s These Violent Delights duology.

Prohibition is in full swing, and the glamorous life of upper-class Kansas City is everything Rose (Luna) Lane ever hoped it would be. Being married to her best friend isn’t so bad either, considering their agreement to keep their real love lives out of the public eye. However, try as she might to continue her life of anonymity, her popularity as a land developer’s wife—and as a successful club owner—draws even more attention to her personal endeavors. Soon, the balancing act between the life of Luna and Rose becomes a full-time job itself, making visiting home harder than ever before.

However, her haven, which once offered a place of acceptance, is growing more hostile. Her community of brujas criticizes her methods of using magic for economic and social gain while consorting with nefarious witches of the North. Meanwhile, the Pendergast Machine is running at full force, pushing his will and money all over the city. Keeping her true identity and powers a secret while posing for the society papers gets all the more dangerous as new enemies start to question her origins…and old ones creep up from dark realms.

The pressure could force Rose to do questionable things for the greater good, distancing herself from her loved ones and who she wants to be. She may have mastered her earth magic, but she still has a lot to learn about the heart…


About the Author


Desideria Mesa is the author of the historical fantasy debut, Bindle Punk Bruja. Her craft often focuses on celebrating the successes and exposing the struggles of Latinx culture through Mexican folktales in historical settings. Aside from churning out novels, she enjoys writing songs, poetry, and short stories.

Praise For…


“Mesa’s debut mixes a bit of Mexican folktale, a chunk of magical realism, and tons of period detail into a page-turning urban fantasy that takes the glitter of Boardwalk Empire and combines it with a story of found family, mob violence, and romance.” — Library Journal (starred review)

Bindle Punk Bruja is a book you will dive into, gorgeously addictive and impossible to put down. It will transport you through time to a 1920s world soaked in gin, glittering in gold and edged in danger. Luna is a hero with an indomitable will, navigating blood-soaked city streets with dark humor and cutting intelligence. Sharp, smart and utterly enchanting, Mesa’s debut is a triumph that stayed with me long after I turned the final page.” — Greta Kelly, author of The Frozen Crown

“Mesa puts the reader in a Kansas City Prohibition scene filled with gangsters, bigotry, and magic to give a thrilling read to historical fantasy fans. Her writing is strong and confident in a story that simply bursts with action fueled by a likable young woman bent on shattering the stereotypes of her time...Mesa balances raw action with lyrical prose and knows just when to pull her punches. Fans of emotionally strong characters and historical fantasy will find a lot to love in Bindle Punk Bruja...The story goes down like good bootleg hooch: smooth and easy with a real strong kick.” — T. Frohock, author of the Los Nefilim series

“The friends and family surrounding Luna are a joy to meet...good flapper fun.” — Kirkus Reviews

Bindle Punk Bruja is the ‘bee’s knees’ and the ‘cat’s meow.’” — Seattle Book Review

Product Details
ISBN: 9780063056121
ISBN-10: 0063056127
Publisher: Harper Voyager
Publication Date: October 29th, 2024
Pages: 400
Language: English